Warren A. Hall Medal

This year’s guest of honor at the annual UCOWR Awards Banquet is DR. HENRY J. VAUX, JR. who will receive the Warren A. Hall Medal for scholarly contributions to the field of water resources. Dr. Vaux exemplifies how government service and academic scholarship can be combined to build a career of contributions to the field of water resources that stands second to none. Henry’s career began with OMB and the Corps of Engineers in Washington. As a water resources economist at UCRiverside, Dr. Vaux laid the groundwork for the reallocation of water from agricultural to urban uses through markets, a system that, along with his leadership on the Powell Commission, stands as California’s and the southwest’s best defense against ongoing drought. Dr. Vaux served as Director of the California Water Resources Center from 1986 to 1993 and transformed the National Association of Water Institute Directors into the National Institutes of Water Resources, positioning it to survive the recurrent appropriations battles in Washington. He served as Associate Vice-President of the University of California system from 1993-2004. Dr. Vaux’s most recent work as Chair of the National Research Council’s Water Science and Technology Board has set the stage for water resources research in the U.S. with the 2001 Envisioning the Agenda for Water Resources Research in the Twenty-First Century and the 2004 Confronting the Nation’s Water Problems: The Role of Research reports.

Ph.D. Dissertation Awards

KARA SORENSEN is the Ph.D. Dissertation Award recipient in Natural Sciences and Engineering for her dissertation entitled, “The Toxicity of Pesticides to Mammalian Cells as Altered by Redox-Modified Smectites.” She completed her M.S. degree, with an emphasis on Cancer Biology, in 1999 at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). She then transferred to the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences at UIUC to pursue a Ph.D. in Environmental Toxicology. During her graduate program Sorensen received two pre-doctoral fellowships and prepared six manuscripts for publication. Currently, Dr. Sorensen is an NRC Postdoctoral Fellow working at the U.S. Navy Marine Mammal Program (NMMP) in San Diego, California. Her research with the NMMP program includes assessing dietary intake for dolphins and sea lions and assisting the program in enhancing their water quality surveillance program.

XIANGMING FANG, Ph.D. Dissertation Award recipient in Water Policy and Socio-Economics for his dissertation, “Water Shortages, Water Allocation, and Economic Growth: the Case of China,” is an Economist with the National Center for Injury Prevention and Control at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. He earned his Ph.D. degree in Applied Economics from the University of Minnesota in 2004. He also received a B.S. degree in Architecture and Environmental Engineering from Zhejiang University in China. His current research focuses on the developmental relationship between violence experienced as a child and violence perpetrated as a young adult, and the roles socioeconomic factors play in youth and family violence perpetration. His general research interests are in Health Economics, Environmental and Resource Economics, and Development Economics.

Honorable Mentions go to

Kendra Dresback, University of Oklahoma for “Algorithmic Improvements and Analyses of the Generalized Wave Continuite Equation Based Model, ADCIRC”

Melinda Erickson, University of Minnesota for “Arsenic in Upper Midwest Ground Water: Occurrence and Geochemical Mobilization Mechanisms”

Kelli Larson, Oregon State University for “Residents’ Attitudes Toward Water Resource Protection in Metropolitan Portland, Oregon”

Education and Public Service Awards in Water Resources

This year’s Education and Public Service Award recognizing a non-UCOWR institution goes to PENOBSCOT PARTNERS for their role in the negotiation of the Penboscot River Settlement Agreement that will facilitate the restoration of 500 fish miles of the Penobscot River for anadromous fish including the endangered Atlantic salmon. This is one of the largest, most creative river restoration projects in our nation’s history. Successful implementation of the project will revive not only native fisheries but social, cultural and economic traditions of New England’s second largest river. The agreement, filed with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) in June of 2004, lays out a roadmap that will restore self-sustaining populations of native sea-run fish, renew opportunities for the Penobscot Indian Nation to exercise sustenance fishing rights, create new opportunities for tourism, business and communities, resolve longstanding disputes, and avoid future uncertainties over the regulation of the river. This unprecedented and innovative agreement will allow the Penobscot River Restoration Trust the option to purchase three dams and subsequently remove the two lowermost dams on the river, Veazie and Great Works, while maintaining more than 90% of the current energy generation.

The first annual Education and Public Service Award recognizing a UCOWR institution for outstanding water resources education programs goes jointly to ARIZONA UNIVERSITY, JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY, SOUTHERN ILLINOIS UNIVERSITY CARBONDALE, and the UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA for their leadership and participation in the Army Corps of Engineers Masters interdisciplinary degree program in Water Resources Planning. Developed jointly by the Corps and UCOWR, this innovative program fills a vital role in cultivating a new generation of water resources planners capable of fulfilling the challenges of the 21st century in federal-local partnerships and community participation, environmental restoration and the management of, rather than construction of, water resources infrastructure through an interdisciplinary program emphasizing environmental economics, social decision-making, and planning as a legal and political process.

Friends of UCOWR Award

This year’s Friends of UCOWR Award goes to DR. LYNNE LEWIS of Bates College. Dr. Lewis received her Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Colorado under the guidance of Warren A. Hall Medal winner Charles W. Howe, receiving the UCOWR Best Dissertation Award in 1995. Lynne has ably served two terms on the UCOWR Board of Directors, twice serving as issue editor for Water Resources Update and coining its successor the Journal of Contemporary Water Research and Education. As Program Chair, Lynne has led in the way in the development of the 2005 annual UCOWR/NIWR conference on River and Lake Restoration: Changing Landscapes. Beyond these specific accomplishments, Lynne has brought to the UCOWR Board a graceful insightfulness and an appreciation of UCOWR’s value to the community of water resources educators. Lynne is now working with Tom Tietenberg of Colby College to revise and update the successful text Environmental and Natural Resource Economics. On behalf of the entire UCOWR community: Thank you!

Please join us Wednesday evening in honoring Henry Vaux and the other UCOWR award winners!

Last modified on Tuesday, 18 September 2012 19:58