2017 Warren A. Hall Medal

The Board of Directors is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Warren A. Hall Medal:  

Dr. John W. Labadie

John W. Labadie, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE, D.WRE, is Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Colorado State University, serving as Coordinator of the Water Resources Planning and Management Program.  He received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in Engineering at the University of California, Los Angeles, and Ph.D. in Industrial Engineering and Operations Research from the University of California, Berkeley.  Dr. Labadie specializes in application of decision support systems, artificial intelligence, machine learning, and knowledge-based systems to complex problems in water resources and environmental systems management.  He is developer and instructor of the graduate courses: GIS in Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer-aided Water Management and Control, Engineering Optimization, and Engineering Decision Support Systems, with all courses offered through CSU Online.  He has served as Principal and Co-Principal investigator for over 50 research projects totaling over $8 million in funding from sponsors at the federal, state, local and international levels.  He served as Senior Editor of the Journal of Water Resources Planning and Management, with his 2004 review on optimal operation of multireservoir systems one of the top five most cited articles published by any of the EWRI journals to date.  He is a Fulbright Research Scholar, won two annual Best Paper awards from scholarly journals, and was the 2015 CSU Online Innovative Educator. 

Dr. Deborah L. Swackhamer

Dr. Deborah L. Swackhamer is Professor Emerita at the University of Minnesota of Science, Technology, and Public Policy in the Humphrey School of Public Affairs and Environmental Health Sciences in the School of Public Health. She also directed the Water Resources Center from 2002 until 2014. She received a BA in Chemistry from Grinnell College, IA and an MS and PhD from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in Water Chemistry and Limnology & Oceanography, respectively. After two years post-doctoral research in Chemistry and Public & Environmental Affairs at Indiana University, she joined the Minnesota faculty in 1987. She officially retired from the University in 2015, and continues to work informally with researchers and decision makers on water resource policy.

In 2012 Dr. Swackhamer completed a 4 year term as Chair of the Science Advisory Board of the US Environmental Protection Agency, and served as a member of the Science Advisory Board of the International Joint Commission of the US and Canada from 2000-2013. She currently serves as Chair of the US EPA Board of Scientific Counselors. She is a member of the National Academy of Sciences Board of Environmental Science and Toxicology. She was President of the National Institutes of Water Resources in 2011-2012.

Dr. Swackhamer received the prestigious Founders Award from the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry for lifetime achievement in environmental sciences in 2009. She is a lifetime Fellow in the Royal Society of Chemistry in the UK. In November, 2014 she was named an Inaugural Fellow of the international Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry. 



Last modified on Wednesday, 24 May 2017 21:37