2016 Warren A. Hall Medal

The Board of Directors is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2016 Warren A. Hall Medal:  

Dr. Norman Whittlesey

Norman Whittlesey is Professor (Emeritus) of Agricultural Economics at Washington State University, where he has been since 1964.  During his tenure at Washington State University he has been heavily involved in research and teaching related to production agriculture, irrigation development, water policy and environmental economics throughout the West.  Studies of water value, allocation, and conservation have been central to research and policy development activities during the past two decades. He has authored over two hundred publications related to these fields.  In 1987 he won the prestigious Award for Professional Excellence from the American Agricultural Economics Association in recognition of his distinguished policy contribution for work in water policy related to irrigation development in the west.  In 1998 he was honored as a Fellow of the American Agricultural Economics Association in recognition for years of path breaking research in water policy and irrigation management. He served as vice president and president of the Western Agricultural Economics Association, and in 2004 he received the Distinguished Scholar award from the WAEA. In 2014 he received the Legacy of Excellence award for emeritus faculty from Washington State University.  In 2015 he was appointed to the Hall of Fame for alumni in the Department of Agriculture and Resource Economics, Colorado State University. He has been involved in many consulting efforts. These include three (U.S. Supreme) Court cases involving disputes between states over allocation of cross border rivers. He has served on numerous regional and national committees and task forces engaged in policy development for solving problems of natural resource management and the environment. 

Last modified on Thursday, 05 May 2016 15:53